top of page

Day 9 - Dream Big

*Workshop with Adina Tal *Travel to Tzfat *Dinner in Tzfat

*Presentation at Rosenfeld Seminary

 

Adina Tal, the founder of the Nalaga’at Theater Company, the world's first deaf-blind professional theater, met with us for a four hour workshop. She spoke to us about her journey, her theater company, and her vision, and she lead us through several trust exercises and group building exercises. Learning about the deaf-blind was a fascinating continuation of our Blind Museum experience from the day before.

Adina Tal was scheduled to do a four hour workshop with us, which I was secretly dreading. What could she possibly do with us for four hours?! But in the end, it was one of the highlights of my trip. Despite everyone’s skepticism, Adina created an acting group comprised solely of deaf and blind people. It was really empowering to hear how she made such a revolutionary difference that continues to move people - I guess, even me.

-Aliza Engle

Adina Tal taught me that very often the greatest adventure of our life is yet to come. -Noa Engle

VIDEO: What we learn from the deaf-blind theatre: Adina Tal at TEDxHiriya

 

We left Yerushalayim, drove up to the northern city of Tzfat, and did our presentation again, this time to the seminaries of Tzfat - Beis Chana, Beis Chaya Mushka, and Machon Alte.

Tamar Guterson (left) and Etti Krinsky (right) performing together in Tzfat

Many of my friends were at the Tzfat presentation, including the girl who introduced me to Tzohar! One of my friends told me that she cried because she was so touched. -Rochel Brekan

I really liked the opportunity to perform for the seminaries in Tzfat. The girls were a really receptive audience - you could feel a connection throughout the performance. -Tamar Guterson (In picture above)

I really felt like the girls at the Tzfat performance appreciated us, and it was so nice to perform for them and to give them a small piece of Tzohar.

-Chana Kudan

Original Song "Alleyways," by Sarah Eckestein - For Women Only:

 

bottom of page