top of page

Day 5 - Onward from Yerushalayim

*Kever Rochel *Chevron *Bat Ayin *Ma'ale Film School

 

Pulling out in the morning signified leaving Yerushalayim. Many girls woke up early to daven at the Kotel for the last time.

To say goodbye to the kotel was very heartbreaking. During his first shiur in Israel, Rabbi Herman mentioned that as well as feeling the Kotel, one can also let the Kotel feel you. Mrs. G. reminded us of the improv exercise that she taught - to feel an object and then let the object feel you. Once she said that, it clicked! It was not just an exercise, the wall can actually feel me. I took an extra breath. I understood from this that my trip had just begun. To have to say goodbye to this wall that feels me was heartbreaking. I still miss and think about the Kotel often! -Tzivia Druin

 

We took an armored bus to Kever Rochel, the burial sight of the Matriarch Rochel.

I felt a very special connection at Kever Rochel because my mother was born on Rochel's Yarzheit. I’ve always felt like my mother and Rochel are connected as mother figures in my life. -Chana Kudan

Kever Rochel was interesting for me because Rochel is my name sake. I prayed more for family there than anywhere else. When I left the building, everyone was sitting on a wall outside singing “Mama Rochel.” It was a beautiful, warm experience. -Rochel Brekan

Outside Kever Rochel (Above and Below)

 

Our second stop was the holy city of Chevron. We walked around the Jewish neighborhood, stopped by the grave site of Rebbetzin Menucha Rochel Slonim, the daughter of the Second Lubavitch Rebbe, and prayed at Maarat Hamachpela, the resting place of the matriarchs and the patriarchs.

I felt so much respect and awe toward every soldier I saw in Chevron. They’re stationed in one of the most targeted cities in Israel, and yet every day, they make the ultimate sacrifice to ensure the survival and continuity of their country.

But when I got to Mearas Hamachpela, this feeling of admiration morphed into some weird form of jealousy. Yes, they’re being completely selfless, but of all places they could have been positioned, they were luckily placed at Me’aras Hamachpela. They get to stand at the feet of the Patriarchs and Matriarchs, all day long. I bet there’s not even room for them to feel scared; they’re too proud.

-Picture and thought, Aliza Engle

I hear a shout behind me, and I jump. A soldier is yelling at a little boy who is holding a soccer ball to stop. I watch as the soldier comes towards the boy with a huge smile on his face, picks him up, and starts to play with him. Non-religious soldier, little boy with peyos and a kippa. In Chevron, a Jew is a Jew. Am Yisrael Chai.

-Sarah Eckstein

Being in Chevron for my second time was so beautiful. The people who live there until this day are so amazing and strong, you can feel it in the air. Also, the presence of the soldiers everywhere made me feel safe and protected.

-Shaindel Freedman

By the kever of Rebbetzin Menucha Rochel

Chevron

the element of earth,

in him i find the sincerest form of relationship.

no white stones to dazzle the youthful heart

and no breathtaking views to calm my starving eyes.

you are ugly

in the spectacular way

you hold the rotting bodies of living men

and the decomposing bones of nursing mothers

all the while her breast is still full with milk

and his eye still glistens with passion.

he is not the black sheep

nor the knight in shining armor

he is bald and disease ridden

but the way he holds my attention

is not like any other

and i love him,

and he loves me

i know,

for the dirt told me.

-By Rosie Lipkind

Chevron is a dilapidated city of crumble, and the only glue holding the place together is the handful of insanely brave and selfless Jewish families who still live there. -Sarah Eckstein

Malka Touger taught a class on the nature of the imahos while we sat on the grass by Ruth and Yishai’s (King David’s father) kever. It was inspiring and mindblowing, especially hearing about my namesake, Leah. She endured so many crazy hardships in her life, yet she had the power and strength to overcome them and be the mother to the majority of the shevatim. Learning about her gave me the hope and strength to move forward with my struggles and gave me more knowledge of how much I possess within me. -Leah Bakhash

When I opened up my siddur at Maarat Hamachpela, instead of starting

mincha, as I had planned, all I could do was stand there in a mesmerized trance. I felt such a strong, tangible connection to my Holy ancestors that I’d never felt before, not even from hundreds of hours I spent learning about them or hearing their names. Nothing could have prepared me for the rawness and reality of it all. -Shani Miller

 

In the beautiful city of Bat Ayin there lives a talented artist by the name of Elisheva Shira. She graciously hosted us for an evening of art, music, and writing. After showing us her own artwork, we were given time to create art inspired by the expansive view from the back of the house. After dinner, her daughter and friend, both musicians, shared some original songs. The enchanted evening ended with a writing workshop led by the a sister of a Tzohar alumna!

Bat Ayin

By Rosie Lipkind

harmony,

it's the sound of silent wind chimes

parading through the hazy valleys

soft

and serene.

Watercolor by Rika Feldman

It was a lot of fun to explore the colors of the mountain scene and the beautiful view, although It was hard to capture because the colors kept changing in the setting sun.–Rika Felman (Picture above)

I loved Bat Ayin because it was the purest place that I’ve ever been. There’s nothing but hills and trees everywhere, and I felt G-d’s presence and how he created everything. It was just beautiful. –Devorah Leah Barrocas

It was really cool to sit on the edge of a cliff watching sunset and physically experience the subject of the art I was creating. I did a pastel collaboration with Tamar of the sunset and the layers of mountain.

-Batsheva Lebovic

I painted the view from the hill in Bat Ayin. It was sunset, so I couldn’t see what the painting look like until after.

-Emma Goldman (See gallery below, first image)

Standing next to Elisheva Shira's artwork​​

Photography by Tzivia Druin

Musicians in Bat Ayin - For Women Only:

Art Work Made in (or about) Bat Ayin:

 

Surprise! The day is not done yet. There's still time to visit the Maaleh Film School, a religious film school.

After such a long day and every aspect of the day being so intensely meaningful and beautiful, the girls were so tired and couldn’t believe we had “another” place to go to. At The Maaleh Film School, we sat in a small screening room and saw three beautifully made films, all connected to dati/religious life. The students were impressed, moved, and awakened to the fact that there was this incredible film school for religious students. I think it truly empowered them to to believe that their art and their voice mattered in all forms. -Mrs. Guterson

I love seeing Jewish, high quality, short, funny films. Maaleh Film School showed us some really awesome ones that they made. Go Maaleh Film School! -Chana Rochel Lerner

 

bottom of page