top of page

Day 8 - Dialogue in the Dark

*Beit Hatfutsot Museum *Free time on the beach

*Blind Museum *Presentation at Machon Shoshanat Yerushalayim​

 

Traffic on the way from Jerusalem to Tel Aviv was terrible, but we managed to get to Tel Aviv for a wonderful (but abridged) tour of the Diaspora Museum. We got to see a new exhibit about Jewish synagogues across the ages, complete with exquisite models! Afterwards, we were given some free time to chill on the beach and soak up the Tel Aviv sun.

Our free time on the beach of Tel Aviv was a really necessary break from the craziness of rushing around. We had time to relax, breathe, and recharge for the rest of our trip. It was beautiful and revitalizing! -Tamar Guterson

 

One of the most memorable experiences of the trip was the blind museum. The hour tour takes place completely in the dark, giving one a taste of the experience of being blind and using other senses.

The Blind Museum was a very humbling experience. It taught me to thank G-d for everything I have and not to take anything for granted.

-Shaindel Freedman

The blind museum was an eye opening experience for me (no pun intended.) I could barely bring myself to go in because of the lack of control it entailed, but looked up to the ceiling and told G-d that I trusted him. In the museum as I felt around, I began to see images in my mind of what I was touching, but when I opened my eyes they would disappear.

-Rochel Brekan (Sketch on left)

The blind museum was such an experience. It was so different to experience the way a blind person lives. It gave me a new perspective and appreciation for my life.

-Tzivia Druin

Sketch by Rochel Brekan about her experience

I don’t think I’ve ever experienced having to use my other senses instead of my sight. Being crippled visually for two hours impacted my vision for life.

-Sarah Eckstein

The Blind Museum was such a cool experience. It was unlike any museum I’ve ever been to. When I walked out, I had such an appreciation for everything around me, from the little buttons on my shirt to the big, beautiful blue Israel sky. -Shani Miller

My experience at the Blind Museum started off very scary, but within a few minutes I got used to the feeling of not seeing, and it was really inspiring. We had a really sweet tour guide who was open and honest about her life as a visually impaired person.

-Chana Kudan

I had an epiphany that blind people can only see in 3 dimensions.

-Emma Goldman

 

We performed our "Chassidus, Art, and Identity" mid-year presentation at Machon Shoshanat Yerushalayim Seminary. For the first time ever, Tzohar shared its artwork and learning with other seminary girls, truly living up to its name Tzohar - a light that takes in and shines to the world as well.

It was cool to be able to inspire other girls our age. -Esti Vogel

When Tzohar presented in Yerushalayim, my sister and my cousin came to watch me perform. It was so cool to be able to show them what I got out of Tzohar. -Leah Bakhash

I had an amazing time at the Yerushalayim seminary. I was really nervous, but I felt they all responded very well to our artwork. -Rochel Brekan

"I Will Be Light" by Matisyahu, sung by Tamar Guterson and Etti Krinsky

For Women Only

 

bottom of page